University Celebrates Benefactors, Newest Endowed Chairs at Investiture Ceremony

Thursday, May 11, 2017

Dr. Francesca Filbey, an associate professor in the School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences, has kept a photo in her office from the day her former dean and mentor Dr. Bert Moore presented her with a diploma from The University of Texas at Dallas. Moore, who was dean for 26 years, died in October 2015.

Now Filbey has another cherished reminder of the “tremendous impact” Moore has had on her career. She has been invested as the Bert Moore Chair in BrainHealth.

“It was really his leadership and reputation that made me think this was going to be a great place for me, and it has been. He really shaped my career from the very beginning, and having this chair really means a lot to me because it ensures me that I will have his steadfast support as long as I have this career,” Filbey said.

Moore’s widow, Dr. Lynne Kirk, was among the distinguished guests and family members who attended the April 7 investiture ceremony. Kirk holds an endowed professorship of internal medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center.

In all, 13 of the most accomplished faculty members at UT Dallas were recognized with the highest award a university can bestow, as family members, colleagues, mentors and benefactors gathered to pay tribute.

The ceremony recognized the distinguished faculty members as well as the donors who helped establish the endowed chairs and professorships. UT Dallas has more than 110 chairs and professorships that recognize the contributions of senior-level faculty members and support their programs and research.  

“These endowments are integral to the University’s ability to draw from the most distinguished scholars in their fields. Donors who create named professorships ensure the vitality of our academic and scientific efforts,” UT Dallas President Richard C. Benson said.

Continue Reading >>
BrainHealth® is a registered service mark of The University of Texas at Dallas